2018 Award Winners

Jordan Lucki
2018 Intern of the Year
Ohio State University
Jordan Lucki Photo

Jordan Lucki is a Senior at The Ohio State University, pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering with a minor in Integrated Business and Engineering.  He is very involved in giving back to the community where he grew up, and the OSU student organization he founded three years ago, “MoneyThink”.  This organization teaches basic financial literacy skills and provides support for post-high school education to students in the Greater Columbus area.  He also volunteers at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center and a Career Fair Coach for OSU Engineering Career Services. During his internship with DaVita Medical Group, Jordan was tasked with determining where and how machine learning and artificial intelligence technology could be used to benefit the healthcare business and its patients. His experience with DaVita showed him how passion drives success. Every day, he had the mentality that his work was going to improve the lives of some of the sickest patients in the US. And having the opportunity to help others through his work, while combining it for his passion with science and technology drove him to be very successful.

Christopher Gomes
2018 Co-op of the Year
Mississippi State University
Christopher Gomes

Christopher Gomes is a Senior Mechanical Engineering major from Madison, Alabama who completed 3 co-op rotations with NASA Marshall Space Flight Center. Some of Chris’ projects included developing a stage separation maneuver of Nanolaunch Vehicles, formulating a base design for an Active Mass Translation device, and assisting with the design of CubeSat systems. One of Chris’ designs was even chosen by the Mechanical System Design and Integration group to be integrated into the maiden voyage of the SLS rocket in 2019.   Chris stated, “One of the most exciting and rewarding aspects of working at NASA is having the opportunity to see your hard work launched into space to perform extraordinary scientific missions.” He plans on pursuing a master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering and researching combustion and thermal systems with space related applications. During his time here at Mississippi State, Chris has been involved with the Space Cowboys Rocket Team and Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems, has been on the President’s Scholar and Dean’s List, and a member of Phi Delta Theta Fraternity.

Anita M. Todd, Ed.D.
2018 Alvah K. Borman Award
University of Cincinnati
Masters of Engineering Internship Program
Anita Todd Photo

Anita Todd is currently the Director of the Masters of Engineering Internship Program at the University of Cincinnati. She began her career as a co-op student through Penn State with Cummins Engine Company, later accepting a full-time position as a Product Development Engineer.  In 1995, she started as the Associate Director for the Penn State Engineering Co-op Program, later being promoted to the Director. In 2002, she relocated to Cincinnati, serving as an adjunct, assistant, and associate professor of Professional Practice at the University of Cincinnati, later accepting an Associate Director role.  During her 20+ years in the field of engineering experiential education, Dr. Todd has held leadership roles in PennACE (president), CEIA (president), ASEE/CEED, and SWE.  In 2004, Dr. Todd received the Dean Herman Schneider Award (CEIA). Dr. Todd holds a BSME (Penn State), MEd. (UC) and D Ed. (UC).  She currently resides in DuBois, PA with her husband of 26 years, Doug.  She has two sons, and three grandchildren. She loves travel, hiking, golfing, reading, theater, trivia, and spending time with “the grands.”

Sandra L. English, J.D., M.P.A.
Senior Manager
2018 Alvah K. Borman Award
Cleveland State University (CSU)
Washkewicz College of Engineering Center for Eng. & Experiential Learning
Sandra English Photo

Sandra English is the Senior Manager for the Center for Engineering and Experiential Learning at the Washkewicz College of Engineering, Cleveland State University (CSU). Sandra has more than doubled student enrollment and employer engagement at CSU.  She is committed to Diversity and Inclusion, serving on the Engineering Dean’s Diversity Council, faculty/staff advisor to the National Society of Black Engineers and co-advisor to the Society for Hispanic Professional Engineers.  Over the last 6 years, she has worked with the Ohio Cooperative Education Association to increase industry engagement and sponsorship by over 90%.  She has served as Conference Chair, participated on the scholarship committee, served as corresponding secretary and currently is the treasurer.  Sandra has been active on the Conference for Industry and Education Collaboration (CIEC) management team for the past four years.  She has served in the role of program chair for the Cooperative Experiential Education Division (CEED), CIEC Sponsorship Chair and is the newly selected CIEC Site Selection Chair.  This past year, she has served as CEED Chair and through her involvement and leadership; industry engagement has more than doubled.  Her collaborative efforts with the 2017 ASEE Conference for the CEED division lead to a record number of attendees from both academia and industry.  Sandra holds a BA from Ursuline College and a J.D. /M.P.A. from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law/Maxine Levin College of Urban Affairs, Cleveland State University.

Reginald McGregor
2018 Lou Takacs Award
Rolls-Royce Corporation
Reginald McGregor Photo

Reginald McGregor is a Mechanical Engineer with over 15 years’ experience in various roles at the Rolls-Royce Corporation. Reginald managed the engineering co-op program for 8 years and was instrumental creating and launching the RR Defense Services co-op program in 2014. He is actively involved with workforce development and educational initiatives. He serves on Governor-appointed Region 5 Works Council; Indiana STEM Advisory Council; President, Lawrence Township School Board; STEMx National Advisory Board; Purdue Engineering Education Industrial Advisory Council; Marion County STEM Coalition; Indiana Chamber of Commerce K-12 and Workforce Committee  Million Women Mentor Steering Committee, Employ Indy Youth Center; and Indiana Afterschool Network Board.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer